How To Delete Hiberfil.sys in Windows 10

image

I have been running Windows 10 Pro since I did the install at the end of July.  Since that time, I have seen my hard drive fill up without me adding files.  This is suspicious behaviour.  When I looked at my drive, I had two files that were both 6.3 GB.  One file was the pagefile.sys and the other was the hiberfil.sys.

I Googled the Hiberfil.sys and found a great article at How To Geek that explains what the hiberfil.sys is and why you may, or may not, need it.  It also explains how to disable or delete the hiberfil.sys. 

I chose to delete the file.  Here are the instructions for doing that.

You’ll need to open an administrator mode command prompt by right-clicking on the command prompt in the start menu, and then choosing Run as Administrator. Once you’re there, type in the following command:

powercfg -h off

Picture from How To Geek’s article on “What is Hiverfil.sys and How Do I Delete It

I immediately freed up the space which is great because I have more room to run Hyper-V.

